Free Audio

To compliment the IIJ e-book there are 55 MP3 audio recordings of the bricks. See below for the NGHLB playalongs. 

These are available for download as a single ZIP file. It is 9.5 MBytes in size and you will need to unzip it when you have downloaded it in order to access the MP3 files. As a simpler and more flexible option, we would recommend the use of a back-track generating software such as iRealPro. Their forum has free charts for practicing lego bricks which others have donated, or you can make your own.

Below are some sample audio tracks frpm the IIJ download Zip above.

Listen to the “Pennies Ending” brick which comes from a family of 8-measure bricks of chords that can be found in the following standards (usually as the last 8, but not always) and many more:

  • Pennies from Heaven
  • The More I See You
  • There’ll Never Be Another You
  • A Weaver of Dreams
  • You Go to My Head
  • I Thought about You
  • It Had to Be You
  • You Turned the Tables on Me
  • Moonglow
  • I Can’t Believe You’re in Love with Me
  • East of the sun
  • Emily
  • I Fall in Love Too Easily
  • It Could Happen to You
  • It’s You or No-one
  • In a Mellow Tone

Once you learn to hear this ‘meta-brick’ of chords, you will be able to improvise over many songs and your solos will be more coherent.

Listen to the “On-Off-On + Dropback” 8-measure metabrick which can be found in the following standards, for example:

  • Avalon
  • Don’t Go to Strangers
  • Groovin’ High (Whispering)
  • I Remember You (last A Section only)
  • The Joint is Jumpin’
  • (Oh) Lady Be Good
  • The Masquerade Is Over
  • Meditation
  • Move
  • On a Clear Day
  • Out of Nowhere
  • Rosetta
  • Stars Fell on Alabama

The NGHLB e-book playalong CD can be dowloaded as two Zip files. They are around 90 MB each.

We would recommend that you use iRealPro instead as a more modern approach to practicing with LEGO bricks and joins.